Christmas Shopping – Try a different approach

Only two days until Xmas.  For Kiwi’s it’s the start of our summer holidays.  There is always the mad rush to finish work for the year, as well as  getting the Christmas shopping done.

Xmas gifts compressThen of course there is the food for the day to organise, whose house are we going to and what is the weather going to be like.

After all rushing arround many of us head off to our favourite holiday spot, battle the other holiday makers in the traffic for a bit of rest and recreation in the sun.

I love shopping!!  So for me Christmas shopping isn’t a chore.  It’s an event that requires planning and usually starts in October and runs right up until Xmas Eve.  I always seem to find that little extra something for someone in the family and OK, sometimes for myself as well.  Whilst this is all great fun, it does tend to blow the Xmas shopping budget, so this year I resolved to do things differently.

I wrote my list (yes I know it’s a bit pedantic, but I can’t help myself) of who we need to buy for.  We usually budget on an amount per person but this year we opted for a different approach and decided on a total Christmas shopping budget, yes, I did the mental calculation to work out roughly how much per person and then  off we went. I still started in October, more by accident really.  We were out of town at a conference and it is always fun to have a wander around shops in another city, you never know what you will find.

Changing our thinking worked really well for us.  Instead of being driven by how much each gift was, why do stores bunch them by value?  We were really thinking about who we were buying for and searching for interesting and different gifts that still fit within our overall budget.

There were some amazing pre Xmas sales in the retail stores; we were able to pick up some real bargains.  We added a bit of online shopping and finished off with a few homemade gifts as well.

We are really pleased with our efforts, and guess what, I came in slightly under budget, so was able to pop out and get a couple of extra gifts for some other friends who are joining us on Xmas day.

Everything is wrapped and under the tree (apart from the edible gifts), Coco our Labrador can hunt out food even if gift wrapped (she still hasn’t been forgiven for eating the Xmas cake last year).

I guess we will know how successful our new way of shopping has been on Christmas day when family and friends are here to open them.

Oh well, shopping over for another year…… time to sort out Christmas dinner.

One thought on “Christmas Shopping – Try a different approach

  1. Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas, I’m not one for New Year’s resolutions, but one I’d really like to do, is do my Christmas shopping during the year as and when things shout out at me, saying this in perfect for that person:) Risk is that I go overboard, but I tend to do that anyway, after all its Christmas:) The best gift is a big heartfelt smile though:)

Leave a Reply

